The minimum age for obtaining a driver’s license is different in different States, from 16 years and 3 months in Dakota to 17 in New Jersey. In most States, the laws for novice drivers are beginners — teenagers who are referred to as “temporary drivers”, “Junior operators” etc. In contrast to Australia and some provinces of Canada, in the United States for novice drivers, there are no additional speed restrictions, prohibition of driving a car with a trailer etc. Restrictions are usually related to the number of underage passengers, and time of day.
From novice drivers under the age of 18 may also request to undergo extensive training. Some States, such as New York, might require undergoing training and adult novice drivers.
Unlike Europe and Australia, novice drivers over 18 years (in New Jersey and the District of Columbia over the age of 21) not be subject to any additional restrictions. However, in some States on these drivers is still in the trial period (usually for 6 months to 2 years) within which is followed by more stringent penalties for traffic violations.
Driving license-produced in the USA, have a digital or alphanumeric code assigned to the Ministry of Transportation (or equivalent Agency) of the state, and usually contain the bearer’s photograph, a copy of the signature, address, class, and an additional category of rights, the physical characteristics of the bearer (height, weight, eye color, and sometimes even skin color), and date of birth. In the state, there cannot be two rights with the same code.
Federal law prohibits specify the rights of social security numbers (SSN) in connection with fraud (identity theft).
In most States, the rights orientation for drivers less than 21 years of vertical is more horizontal. This distinction allows you to easily determine the age, that is, whether the right to legally buy and consume alcohol (in the USA it is allowed from 21 years).
The Many States require when you move to the right of the new state within a certain time.
Since the U.S. does not have any legal ID card, driver’s license is often used for such purposes and the state and private companies. As a result, rights are often subject to attempts at identity theft. Law was used for such purposes is not always; until the 1980s in many States, the rights did not have photos. The latter States that posted the photos on their rights became New York and Tennessee (1986).
However, New Jersey later allowed an adult to get right without photos. Subsequently, the provision was repealed.
The information on law changes from state to state and may include fingerprints, bar codes, magnetic strip etc. At present, the authorities of individual States have been slow to move to digital standard driver’s license, including holograms and barcodes.
Identity card for persons who are not drivers
All States provide issue identification cards to persons who do not drive cars, usually through the same government Agency. These cards have the same characteristics as a driver’s license, usually issued to students, individuals not physically able to drive a car, people in big cities with developed public transport, etc. Legally, such cards are a secondary ID only valid if the main document issued by the authorities of the country of origin (passport or right).